Diablo 3: How to Save
I’ve seen several people asking in forums how to save your game in Diablo 3 for the PC.
The short answer is, there is no manual save function. Every time you play, you’re connecting to the Blizzard servers which is where your character is stored. It doesn’t matter if your PC crashes in the middle of a fight, your character is saved automatically.
Your progress on the other hand is not saved. If you go through a dungeon most of the way and then leave your game, when you come back the map will look like you’ve never been there. In order to save progress, you need to reach the checkpoints.
This can be handy however, if you’re trying to reset a dungeon. You can go through a dungeon, kill the elites, loot all of the chests, then leave your game and come back to do it all over again.